An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Archive for September 5, 2010

Black Bear – Welcome to a photographic journey through the woods, fields and marshes of New England

I was walking behind my house this afternoon when my dog alerted me to the fact that there was a black bear about 30 yards away from us. A mother and three cubs were spotted on my road recently, and last week I found scat on my driveway, so it was not a total surprise that we crossed paths with one. Still, it’s always a thrill to confirm firsthand that you are actively sharing woodlands with such a magnificent animal. I have a number of photographs I’ve taken of black bears in the wild, but the one I’m posting today is of a bear in captivity (Squam Lakes Science Center, Holderness, NH). I’m hoping its pose amuses everyone as much as it does me.

Find more of my photographs and information similar to that which I post in this blog in my book Naturally Curious, which is being published this fall.

BLACK BEAR


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,018 other followers