An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Archive for September 29, 2010

Porcupine – Welcome to a photographic journey through the woods, fields and marshes of New England

Find more of my photographs and information similar to that which I post in this blog in my book Naturally Curious, which is being published this fall.

PORCUPINE

This afternoon I happened across an ailing porcupine in the woods and I had the privilege of approaching it within just a few inches. At one point this prickly rodent yawned, allowing me to see its four large incisors. Because it wasn’t feeling up to snuff, the porcupine tolerated my scratching its nose, the only place besides its belly where there are no quills.


Wood Frog – Welcome to a photographic journey through the woods, fields and marshes of New England

Find more of my photographs and information similar to that which I post in this blog in my book Naturally Curious, which is being published this fall.

WOOD FROG

It’s not unusual to run across wood frogs in the woods during the fall. In the next month or so they will be disappearing under the leaf litter as well as under logs and rocks where they will hibernate through the winter. Wood frogs are one of four frogs in New England (spring peeper, gray treefrog and boreal chorus frog are the other three) that can survive being frozen, thanks to the production of glucose which acts like antifreeze. When the temperature rises they simply thaw out and their metabolism increases.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,471 other followers