An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Archive for September 30, 2010

Grasshoppers – Welcome to a photographic journey through the woods, fields and marshes of New England

Find more of my photographs and information similar to that which I post in this blog in my book Naturally Curious, which is being published this fall.

MATING GRASSHOPPERS

Insects have adapted to winter in a variety of ways – some migrate and most overwinter as eggs, larvae, pupae or adults. Grasshoppers mate this time of year (note smaller size of male on top), and then deposit their eggs in the earth before dying. As this photograph demonstrates, their drive to procreate is so strong that even handling them does not cause them to separate from each other. (Please excuse my dirty finger.) I am spending the next week in the Canadian bush – blog entries will resume upon my return!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,024 other followers