An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Wolf Spider Eggs Hatching

6-10-14 wolf spider & egg sac & babies IMG_7251Female wolf spiders provide both their eggs and young with a considerable amount of maternal care. They actually carry their egg sac around with them, attached to the spinnerets at the end of their abdomen, as they hunt for food and go about their lives. Careful to keep her egg sac from touching the ground, the mother makes sure it receives a sufficient amount of sunlight each day, presumably to enhance incubation. She also mends any tears that appear in the sac. The eggs hatch in one to two weeks, and 4 to 22 days later, the mother perforates the egg sac either part way or all the way around the seam by rotating the sac with her legs as she makes tiny holes in it with her chelicerae (mouthparts). Within three hours of this, spiderlings crawl out of the sac through the holes made by the mother, climb up onto her abdomen (see photo), and remain there for days or weeks, depending on the species.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

8 responses

  1. judilindsey@comcast.net

    This is so cool!

    Thanks, Judi

    June 11, 2014 at 11:09 am

  2. Tara

    Awesome pics. I always open your email first to start my day. Thank you so much!

    June 11, 2014 at 11:32 am

  3. dellwvt

    Amazing! And wonderful photos!
    Now I’m even more curious about how you find your photo opportunities. Do you have something (like this) in mind as you head out on a given day? Perhaps more so with flora than fauna subjects, I suppose? But how do you manage to notice these tiny critters at such perfect moments?
    (I am repeatedly awestruck, when I open your e-mail each morning!)
    Thanks! – Dell

    June 11, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    • I’ll let you in on a secret…I come up with topics for my blog by taking walks, seeing what’s happening, and photographing it… I usually don’t have any particular goal in mind when I set out, other than to find something hopefully interesting to myself as well as others. If I’m lucky enough to notice more than one thing, and get a half decent photograph of them, I then I select one for use the next day, and perhaps use the others later on, if they are still current. So glad you enjoy them!

      June 11, 2014 at 5:27 pm

  4. I’m not afraid of spiders but wolf spiders are not allowed to live in the house. Too big and fuzzy for me. I put them in the yard.

    June 11, 2014 at 3:35 pm

  5. Mary ellen

    Who ever would have thought that spiders would be so nurturing of their young!

    June 11, 2014 at 5:11 pm

  6. Fascinating!

    June 11, 2014 at 6:33 pm

  7. Irma Graf

    I would love to walk with you sometime Mary…

    June 14, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,764 other followers