An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Eastern Kingbird Nestling With A Mouthful

kingbird feeding young female widow skimmer dragonfly 1090If you look very closely you will see that the adult Eastern Kingbird has just stuffed a female Widow Skimmer dragonfly (that it has caught and killed) down the throat of one of its nestlings whose beak is pointed skyward. Eventually, after much hard work, the young kingbird succeeded in swallowing the insect, wings and all. The parents will continue feeding their nestlings for at least three weeks after they have fledged.

4 responses

  1. Kane Beatz

    Reblogged this on Beatz kane Blog.

    July 30, 2013 at 11:48 am

  2. Elizabeth

    Great photo! I just found a nest full of Indigo Bunting fledglings in the dog yard. I am worried about the fledglings and their novice flying ability with curious canines around. (I discovered the birds after one crash-landed in the middle of the yard. Fortunately it got back up again and flew off before my dog discovered it.) Would the Indigo Buntings stay in the nest for as long after fledging as the Kingbirds?

    July 30, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • I should have made myself more clear. Once fledged, young songbirds rarely return to the nest, but they do stick around the area, and are fed by their parents for varying amounts of time!

      July 30, 2013 at 7:38 pm

      • Elizabeth

        Thanks for the reply. I have been hearing them around, and I think the little buntings are O.K. I haven’t been back to check on the nest. Now I won’t worry if I do check and don’t see them in it. I would guess that they go from awkward first flight to expertise quite quickly, or they would never survive in the wild.

        July 31, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Leave a Reply

