An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Raccoons Gorging

9-17-13  raccoon vomit, corn 203In New England, Raccoons prepare for winter by eating extra food during the fall. Being omnivores, they eat everything from crayfish and mice to nuts and corn. The latter two items are particularly important, as these high carbohydrate foods allow the Raccoons to put on considerable fat reserves for the cold winter months. According to the Farmer’s Almanac, Raccoons are wasteful when it comes to harvesting corn, because they don’t really like sweet corn all that much. You could fool the Raccoon that deposited this pile on the forest floor adjacent to a Vermont corn field. It gorged on so many ears of corn that it got sick, and there wasn’t a hint of anything but corn kernels that came out of its stomach. (The pile was well over a foot in length.)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

9 responses

  1. Cindy

    Hi Mary! How did you even know what that was? I never think of wild animals throwing up even though my pets do plenty of it. lol

    September 17, 2013 at 11:28 am

    • Signs of raccoons in the corn were very evident, but it’s possible a bear might have left it, and done its corn damage elsewhere…

      September 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      • Your theory is every bit as plausible as mine, I’m afraid…

        September 17, 2013 at 9:48 pm

  2. Leslie English

    Ahoy, Mary! I wonder whether a raccoon (or another animal) might later eat these vomited corn kernels. They look pristine. (no need to answer) best, Leslie

    September 17, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    • Checked today and it hasn’t been touched, surprisingly!

      September 17, 2013 at 9:42 pm

  3. Louise Garfield

    I came across a similar, somewhat bigger, pile last fall and concluded it was bear vomit–I actually Googled “bear vomit” because I thought the animal that left this pile had to be big, and saw images that confirmed–any ways to tell the difference?

    September 17, 2013 at 3:23 pm

    • Hi Louise,
      I concluded raccoon because the corn had obviously been visited by a raccoon — only one or two stalks pulled down in one place — presume a bear would have mashed down many stalks and made much more of a mess. But it’s possible a bear got into the field in another area and wandered a bit before entering the woods and getting sick.

      September 17, 2013 at 9:44 pm

  4. Paulinka

    unfortunately I have a somwhat somber take on this. I have noticed that the corn that my husband feeds the birds is routinely thrown up and I suspect that GMO’s have something to do with this. I really want my husband to stop feeding corn or even have it in our basement where our cat can get to it because of this. GMO’s are lethal. This pile may be from eating too much, but I wonder and don’t eat corn anymore unless I know it is organic.

    September 17, 2013 at 5:38 pm

  5. Sally Gage

    I lost today’s post of the mystery, but I would like to make my guess. I think the photo is the end of the female bee where the stinger would protrude, as if an ovipositor. Sally Gage

    September 26, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

