An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Ferdinand Fox’s First Summer Wins Awards

100 ppi FerdinandFox2I thought I would share with my readers that my children’s book, FERDINAND FOX’S FIRST SUMMER, has received two awards this fall – it has been listed as an “Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12 for 2014” by the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and the Children’s Book Council, and it also received a 2013 Children’s Moonbeam Award. If there’s a young person (3-7 years) in your life, this might make a great Christmas gift!

59 responses

  1. Geri LaJoie

    Congratulations, Mary!! I am a Teacher Naturalist at Drumlin Farm, and also work a bit in the Audubon Shop there… I’ve forwarded this to Leslie Miller, the shop’s book buyer, so she can check on getting copies for the shop–it looks terrific!!   Best,   Geri LaJoie

    >________________________________ > From: Naturally Curious with Mary Holland >To: gmlajoie@yahoo.com >Sent: Wednesday, November 6, 2013 6:42 AM >Subject: [New post] Ferdinand Fox’s First Summer Wins Awards > > > > WordPress.com >Mary Holland posted: “I thought I would share with my readers that my children’s book, FERDINAND FOX’S FIRST SUMMER, has received two awards this fall – it has been listed as an “Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12 for 2014” by the National Science Teachers Assoc” >

    November 6, 2013 at 11:51 am

    • Thank you so very much, Geri! Much appreciated!

      November 6, 2013 at 12:05 pm

  2. Ellen

    Congratulations! I just gave this book to a friend who has 2 little ones.

    November 6, 2013 at 11:59 am

    • Many thanks, Ellen, for your support!

      November 6, 2013 at 12:06 pm

  3. Audrey Ball

    That’s really great, congratulations!

    Audrey

    >

    November 6, 2013 at 11:59 am

  4. Joanna Frodin

    Congratulations, Mary. You are amazing. I will certainly pass the book onto someone for Christmas. Joanna frodin

    November 6, 2013 at 12:11 pm

  5. Roseanne Saalfield

    Mary many best wishes on your fine awards. I’ll get a bundle of them next time I’m at the Concord book store, Roseanne

    November 6, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • Thank you so much, Roseanne — I really appreciate all the support you’ve given me! Mary

      November 6, 2013 at 12:39 pm

  6. vgillhouse

    Congratulations! I will definitely keep this in mind for a gift when the need arises!

    November 6, 2013 at 12:21 pm

  7. Rick

    Congratulations! I will forward this message about the book to friends and folks who work with children. Keep up the good work.

    November 6, 2013 at 12:29 pm

  8. Congratulations! Well deserved; you do beautiful work — felicia

    November 6, 2013 at 12:36 pm

  9. shielaswett

    Congratulations, Mary! I myself just may pretend that I am 6 years old, and give myself a copy :-)) Thank you! cheers, Shiela

    November 6, 2013 at 1:02 pm

  10. Rick and Louise Palumbo

    CONGRATULATIONS MARY 0N YOUR TWO WELL DESERVED AWARDS

    November 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    • Thank you so much, Rick and Louise. Hope I see you soon!

      November 6, 2013 at 11:55 pm

  11. What an honor it must be to have your work so widely acclaimed. Congratulations, and best wishes as you dive into the sequel!?

    November 6, 2013 at 1:37 pm

  12. Dianne and Ed

    WHOPEE:-) and Congratulations to you……Haven’t yet seen it, but have it on list to look for…… Be on the look out for a check in the mail as an appreciation to you for all your fabulous posts!! Naturally yours, Dianne

    November 6, 2013 at 1:44 pm

  13. Congratulations Mary! Very exciting, you deserve it! xo

    November 6, 2013 at 1:45 pm

  14. Yes! I agree! I must pretend I’m 3 and get my own copy as well as 2 autographed copies for the youngsters in my life. Really, this is WONDERFUL, Mary!

    November 6, 2013 at 1:58 pm

  15. Doreen Morse

    Congratulations. Your photography, and knowledge are unparallelled. I will purchase a copy for my Granddaughter….what are the chances of getting an autographed one? Will you have any signings in the Boston area before Christmas? Doreen

    November 6, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    • Thank you, Doreen. I am giving a program sponsored by the Appalachian Mt. Club on Joy Street on December 4th. I believe it’s at 6 p.m. Best to call them to make sure it’s open to the public — I’m sure it is, but best to confirm. HOpe to see you there!

      November 6, 2013 at 11:58 pm

  16. Wendy

    Congratulations Mary! It’s a great book, I love my copy.

    November 6, 2013 at 2:35 pm

  17. Penny March

    Congratulations! I have given a copy to the Norman Williams Library and will send them the news! Penny

    November 6, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • Thanks for all of your support, Penny! I really appreciate it.

      November 6, 2013 at 11:59 pm

  18. viola

    Congratulations, Mary! I bought Ferdinand the Fox several weeks ago. The book is a real winner for sure, and Ferdinand is adorable. We’ve had a family of foxes living under our lodge for the past two years, only early on; they leave around mid-June.
    Viola

    November 6, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    • Hi Viola,
      Thanks so much, and lucky you to have such fun neighbors!

      November 7, 2013 at 12:00 am

  19. Randi Filoon

    Congratulations Mary! Should I order through you or from a bookstore? I need 3 of “”Ferdinand Fox’s First Summer”? Randi

    Sent from my iPad

    November 6, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    • Hi Randi,
      Thanks so much! If you would like signed copies, you can email me at mholland@vermontel.net and let me know who to sign them to, and whether you would like hard or soft cover, and include your mailing address. Hopefully your local bookstore has a copy, but you might have to ask to get it. Either way is great!

      November 7, 2013 at 12:02 am

  20. Dian Parker

    MaryCONGRATULATIONS! What an honor to be honored.Dian

    Date: Wed, 6 Nov 2013 11:42:34 +0000 To: dian3232@hotmail.com

    November 6, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    • Thanks so much for your message, Dian. It IS an honor!

      November 7, 2013 at 12:02 am

  21. Mary, how marvelous – so pleased for you and ‘Ferdinand’ ! And, will get the Canadian bookstores ordering, definitely! Congratulations again!

    November 6, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    • Thanks so much, Pam. I really appreciate it when someone introduces their bookstore to my books! Especially in another country!

      November 7, 2013 at 12:03 am

  22. Rebecca Weil

    Congratulations!!! That is wonderful!! I will be getting some as gifts.

    Best wishes,

    Rebecca Weil

    November 6, 2013 at 5:02 pm

  23. Michael Robinson

    Congratulations. I gave this book to my grandson last year and he loves it as much as I do. Amy

    November 6, 2013 at 9:36 pm

  24. Jean Harrison

    Congratulations, Mary. I am so pleased for you. I enjoy Ferdinand at least as much as my grandchildren do when I read it to them.

    November 6, 2013 at 9:49 pm

    • Hi Jean, What kind words! Many thanks!

      November 7, 2013 at 12:04 am

  25. Judith Pettingell

    Wish my grandchildren lived closer so I could hunker down with them and share this wonderful book (not to mention yur daily posts – – marvelous!!). What a great resource you are to both old (I’m 72 years young) and young (my grandsons are 6, 3 1/2 and 10 1/2 months).

    Judith Pettingell

    November 6, 2013 at 10:44 pm

    • Thank you so much, Judith. I so appreciate your kind words.

      November 6, 2013 at 11:47 pm

    • Thank you, Judith, for your very kind words.

      November 6, 2013 at 11:52 pm

  26. juneoftwin@gmail.com

    Congratulations!

    My grand-niece is only 7 months old but I am buying her books already, and will add this book to my collection for her.

    June Rogier

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    November 6, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    • How kind of you, June. Thanks so much.

      November 6, 2013 at 11:51 pm

  27. Linda Johanson

    wonderful! I will bring this news to my whole school! and grandchildren
    Linda Johanson
    Upper Valley Waldorf School, Quechee, Vermont

    November 6, 2013 at 11:16 pm

  28. Marie Kirn

    Way to go, Mary and Ferdinand!!! The world is a better place because you are in it!!! Love and let’s lunch. Marie

    November 7, 2013 at 3:18 pm

  29. Leslie English

    dear Mary, I tried to order this from my local bookstore but they couldn’t do it! Will get it online. congratulations! best, Leslie English

    November 7, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  30. judilindsey@comcast.net

    Mary,

     That is terrific – and so deserving. Congratulations!

    #1 Fan

    Judi

    November 8, 2013 at 12:00 pm

  31. Thank you so much, Judi! #! Appreciator!

    November 8, 2013 at 4:43 pm

  32. Pingback: 10 Book Recommendations for Winter ReadingLearn2Earn Blog

Leave a Reply

