An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

The Life of a Naturalist Blogger

Mary Holland and dog "Emma"Recently I was asked to write an article for a Vermont newspaper (The Rutland Herald) about my Naturally Curious blog — how it came to be, as well as the inside story on my selection of subjects, the taking of photographs, and the writing and posting of information. As you might imagine, there is quite a bit involved in publishing a natural history blog five days a week. The article ran this past weekend, and I thought that perhaps some of the faithful readers of my blog might enjoy reading it. If you would like to see what I had to say, you can go to this link, MaryHollandArticleJan052014, and get a behind-the-scenes account of what goes into the posts you loyally subscribe to and support! (Photo by Gary Trachier)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

28 responses

  1. Tara

    GREAT article, Mary! I love your book and I look forward to your blog every day. You never disappoint! I occasionally link back to your site on my Twitter page hoping more will sign up for your daily blog posts.

    January 7, 2014 at 1:38 pm

  2. Daphne Klein

    Wonderful article! And this seems like a good time to say just how much I look forward to reading your daily posts. Incredible photographs and “just enough information” to intrigue, delight, and inform me. Thank you, Mary, for sharing your world with us.

    January 7, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    • Daphne, you are more than welcome. It’s my passion, and I’m just delighted that there are so many others who share my enthusiasm for the natural world.

      January 7, 2014 at 2:34 pm

  3. Great article. And love that light canoe!

    January 7, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    • Yes, I am totally spoiled with a 17-pound Hornbeck!

      January 7, 2014 at 2:34 pm

  4. Excellent article, Mary, and well-deserved! I shared it on my FB page, so hopefully you’ll attract even more happy followers. Don’t envy you heading out each day in this extreme cold. Keep warm!

    January 7, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    • Thank you so much, Denise. I really appreciate your posting it on FB! (On really cold/wet days, I have to admit that I sometimes use photographs that I’ve taken in previous days/years!)

      January 7, 2014 at 2:33 pm

  5. Margaret

    Thank you for sharing the article. It makes me think more about what it takes to do your magnificent blog, which expands my perceptions when I’m outdoors. I find that I often see (hear, smell) amazing things outdoors but often don’t know the story behind them. I know having a larger knowledge of the natural world is helpful (for example reading your blog), but I’m wondering how you do your research after you take your photo. Where do you begin and what are the resources for information that are most useful to you?

    January 7, 2014 at 2:13 pm

    • Hi Margaret,
      I have always spent my spare change on natural history books, so my 50-year collection is quite large, and I use it constantly. I have favorites, of course, many of which are listed in the back of Naturally Curious as resources. I also belong to Birds of North America Online, which has the best and latest information on birds. Various websites have been helpful, as well.

      January 7, 2014 at 2:32 pm

  6. Thanks, Mary, for your wonderful blog. It’s fun to learn more about you and how you develop your posts.
    Thanks also for emailing me back on my snake photo in the fall. I posted the photo and the explanations I received from you and Alan M. Richmond, Ph.D., herpetologist at the University of Massachusetts. (http://www.berkshirehiker.com/search/label/Snakes)

    January 7, 2014 at 2:19 pm

  7. Dianne and Ed

    THANK YOU THANK YOU to You and Emma, And a ‘Bloggingly Good New Year! Dianne

    January 7, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    • Dianne and Ed, you are so very welcome!

      January 7, 2014 at 3:27 pm

  8. John

    Great story, Mary. Your blog is one of our favorite reads of the day. My wife, June, and I have his and hers Hornbecks just like yours!

    January 7, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    • Thanks, John. Hornbecks are the best, aren’t they?

      January 7, 2014 at 3:28 pm

  9. Kjh4060wel@aol.com

    Thanks for the link to The Rutland Herald. How did you become an environmental educator and an excellent natural history photographer? Topic for another newspaper article. Thank you. Katherine J. Holle

    January 7, 2014 at 10:42 pm

  10. Alfred Balch

    Mary, I tried to open ‘the life of a naturalist blogger’ and I got this mix of unreadable b.s. that I don’t understand. Is there another way that I can see that? I did notice in the photo that you have Choppers Mits on, I think they are the best too.  I’m not good with this dot com machine- please help.  Thanks,AB

    January 8, 2014 at 1:08 am

    • Hi Alfred, Someone else told me that when they clicked on the link it just went blank. My computer knowledge is more limited than yours, I assure you. I hope you can open the pdf file that I’ve attached to this email…let me know if you can’t! I am going stir crazy not getting into the woods. Hopefully Thursday I’ll find out what the heck is wrong with my knee. Hope you’re in good form! Mary

      January 8, 2014 at 1:19 am

  11. judilindsey@comcast.net

    Hi Mary,

     This was a great article. Good exposure for all you do!

    Thanks,Judi

    January 8, 2014 at 11:31 am

  12. cathq75

    Great piece, Mary.and continuously good work!

    Im hoping to be able to send you a contribution soon.

    Fondly Charlotte

    Hows Sadie?

    Charlotte Houde Quimby 266 Poverty Lane 7A Lebanon, NH 03766 603-727-9562 charlotte.quimby6@gmail.com

    January 8, 2014 at 2:37 pm

  13. Susie Peters

    <!– a:hover {color:red} a {text-decoration:none; color:#0088cc}

    January 8, 2014 at 2:50 pm

  14. Marian Boudreault

    Mary and Emma we love you and blog books etc…stay warm and keep educating us !!

    January 9, 2014 at 12:09 am

    • Thank you, Marian. Your sentiments are much appreciated!

      January 10, 2014 at 10:25 pm

  15. Great article. I loved learning about the background of your blog. NC arrived today (fast shipping!), I am so excited to get into it. Looks wonderful on the first quick peruse, amazing photos and so much information. Can’t wait to sink my teeth into it (or is that eyes?)!

    January 9, 2014 at 10:51 pm

  16. Mary! So nice to see your face and your dog! It was a great article and I can’t tell you how much I enjoy your posts. Thank you so much for your time and efforts.

    January 10, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    • Thanks you zinniaz4bees! You are more than welcome!

      January 10, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

