An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Fisher Sign

1-22-14 fisher bed and scat 074You can spend days following the tracks of a fisher – this tireless member of the weasel family travels up to ten miles a day during the winter, foraging for food and stopping to bed down periodically. One of the more common signs of fisher, other than tracks, is their resting spots. Fishers are active day and night, but even they have to stop now and then to rest, often at the base of a tree. More often than not they defecate before departing. If you look closely you’ll see the fisher’s scat – guide books often state that the scat of fishers is dark and twisted. While this is sometimes so, their scat can also be somewhat mustard-color and not be at all twisted, as in this photograph.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

7 responses

  1. Fishers are my favorite animal to follow. Any idea how much sleep they actually need, and how they sleep (Hours at a time, or several minutes)? Tracking books just don’t have that information–at least not the ones I own. Thanks!

    January 24, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    • Hi Kellyann,
      I’m afraid none of my resources have any information on the sleeping habits of fishers. I’ll keep looking and let you know if I find anything.

      January 24, 2014 at 5:48 pm

      • Thanks! It’s certainly not urgent. 🙂

        January 24, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  2. Judy Hinterlong

    I could swear I saw one of these in Hamilton County, Ohio a few years ago. It crossed the road in front of me at night in Winton Woods Park. It was black, weasel-like, but much too big to be a weasel. It stopped and stared at me a moment before heading on across the road. It was quite large-took up nearly 2/3 of the lane of the road or more. It was kind of scary, because I’d never seen anything quite like it. Made me wonder what else is in the woods here. Lol.

    January 24, 2014 at 4:49 pm

  3. Pat

    Fisher scat is also one of the very few that might contain porcupine quills. (Perhaps mountain lion is the only other?) I once found such a scat. Hmmm, I wonder where I put that? I should donate it to Mary’s collection.

    January 24, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    • Hi Pat,
      How very generous of you to think of sharing your porucpine-quill fisher scat! I actually found one myself, and I was also thrilled to find fisher scat that contained a porcupine’s footpad (photo is on p.14 of Naturally Curious)!

      January 24, 2014 at 5:57 pm

  4. Great pics and info as usual. I’m glad you noted that about fisher scat. I dare say that most of the fisher scat I’ve found looks more like the one in your photo and not of the twisted variety.

    January 27, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Leave a Reply

