An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Morel Mania

5-22-14 morels 105This is the time of year to visit old apple orchards, burned areas, dying elms, cottonwoods and ash trees in hopes of finding delectable Yellow Morels, also known as Honeycomb Morels (Morchella esculenta). Unlike many fungi, which produce spores through gills, pores or “teeth,” morels have tiny sacs along the insides of their pits or wrinkles in which spores are produced. These fruiting bodies are highly sought after, especially in Boyne City, Michigan, where they have a morel-gathering competition at their annual National Morel Mushroom Festival. At the start of a gun hundreds of people race to find and collect as many morels as possible in 90 minutes. The record for one person is more than 900 morels – impressive by any measure, but particularly for those of us who live in the Northeast, where finding a dozen or so in a single season is something to crow about! (There are several types of morels, some edible and others poisonous, so consult an expert if you’re not positive of the i.d. before consuming any.) Thanks to Ginny Barlow for photo op.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

7 responses

  1. pshaley@aol.com

    Are you thanking Ginny Barlow for the opportunity to take a photo or her giving you the photo? Just wondering. Many thanks for a very informative site.

    May 23, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    • I’m thanking Ginny for the opportunity she presented me with to photograph the morels. Whenever anyone is kind enough to make me aware of something photo-worthy, and tells me about/takes me to the site in order for me to photograph it, I feel the least I can do is acknowledge their generosity in my posts!

      May 23, 2014 at 12:26 pm

  2. We have been looking for morels this past week and have had 2 beautiful dinners so far (along with wild ramps), seems like the season is a little late this year, at least where I live, but it’s raining now and we are hoping for a great morel-filled memorial day weekend!

    May 23, 2014 at 12:41 pm

  3. Nannette Orr

    Hi –

    I thought of you when I got this a few minutes ago —

    I never knew there was a poisonous morel – did you?

    Nannette

    May 23, 2014 at 12:44 pm

  4. AlStoops

    I don’t think there are any true morels that are poisonous. There is a mushroom called the “false morel”, Gyromitra, that has poisoned people, and it does look something like a morel, but has folds rather than pits.

    May 23, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    • I agree, Al, but I wanted to cover all my bases. Did a post on both true and false morels a few years ago. Thanks!

      May 23, 2014 at 1:17 pm

  5. Mushrooms always scare me, my elders did a good job when I was a kid!

    May 24, 2014 at 2:11 am

Leave a Reply

