An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Soggy Beaver Grooming While Thinking About Mating

2-24-15  beaver grooming IMG_3896A Naturally Curious blog reader has (with great humor) chastised me for occasionally misleading readers into thinking that my photograph will always illustrate the title of my post (i.e. “Beavers Mating”) when it doesn’t 100% of the time. Her exact words were, “Not fair Mary, you get the reader all excited about seeing a picture of Beavers mating, and lure them to your blog, then just give them a picture of a soggy beaver looking resentfully into your camera. You have done this before my friend, sooner or later you have to give us the true grit :)”

I realize that I must disappoint some readers when this happens. Believe me, if I could photograph every subject that I write about I would, but there are a few unavoidable exceptions, primarily when it comes to the subject of breeding. I could just not mention when this activity is taking place, but in the interest of science, I feel it’s worth a mention now and then. Please excuse the lack of accurate labeling when this occurs. Today, in an effort to be more truthful, I’m posting yet another beaver photo with a more accurate title. (Thanks for keeping me honest, Prue.)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

17 responses

  1. Jennifer Waite

    HaHa! Mary, all of your posts are a treasure! 🙂

    February 24, 2015 at 9:45 am

  2. Jon Binhammer

    Prue needs to chill. You state that mating takes place either under water or in the lodge… in February – ok, so let’s play this out – you in a dry suit snorkeling under the ice on the beaver pond just hoping to catch the 20 seconds or so that beavers are copulating. Right.

    February 24, 2015 at 9:47 am

  3. Sabin Cynthia

    I’m fascinated by the fore-paws on the beaver. They look like tiny human hands in slick leather gloves in this photo. And I’ve always wondered about the surface texture of the tale. Please tell us more about the beaver’s physiology.

    February 24, 2015 at 10:15 am

  4. Hahaha! Your posts always make my day!

    February 24, 2015 at 10:21 am

  5. I agree with Jon — you have never disappointed me, and as far as I’m concerned “Beavers Mating” is a perfectly good title… although I laughed out loud at “Beaver grooming and thinking about mating”. hahahaha! Going to make a donation right now and put my money where my mouth is!

    February 24, 2015 at 10:26 am

  6. and here I was feeling great affinity for beavers, when the words “soggy,” “resentful,” and “cold” just spring to mind when I think about my romantic life this Feb… 😉

    February 24, 2015 at 10:28 am

  7. Roseanne Saalfield

    Mary I am not the least bit bothered by your giving us science facts that are seasonally appropriate while showing us a grumpy or wet or tousled beaver This is a very adorable photo…we are off to better places soon…Miami, briefly, Sanibel (and Ding Darling) and then driving up the west coast of FLA and along the Panhandle with a stop, I dearly hope, at the Sandhill Crane NWR north of Biloxi before we spend 6 days visiting my younger son in New Orleans. Sun and warmth await us tho they’ve had a cold snap there too – it’s just not remotely like our cold snap I am glad I am not a beaver right this minute, Roseanne >

    February 24, 2015 at 10:43 am

  8. Stephanie

    Remember Mary “you can’t please all of the people all of the time”. I’m amazed at the photos you DO have. Keep up the good work! (And let the poor animals mate in private) 😊

    February 24, 2015 at 10:56 am

  9. Kathie Fiveash

    Well, you help us to IMAGINE beavers mating, which is a good way to spend a moment in this lockdown cold. Keep those unphotographable posts coming!

    February 24, 2015 at 11:19 am

  10. Kathie Fiveash

    Actually, I once crawled into a bank beaver lodge on the Quabbin reservoir when the water level was so low that the entire tunnel of branches the beavers had constructed on the sloped bank leading up and in was exposed. I am a bit broader than a beaver, so it was hard going, lots of sticks poking me. I had a flashlight in my hands, which were stretched in front of me to make me narrower. The chamber was low and muddy-looking and maybe 4 feet in diameter. I didn’t go in – the whole crawl was more than 10 feet and I was very claustrophobic and uncomfortable – just wriggled out backwards. But I do know firsthand what the beavers’ bower of bliss looks like!!

    February 24, 2015 at 11:36 am

    • We share this experience, Kathie. I, too, wedged myself up into the main cavity of an abandoned lodge — there’s a photo of the inside in my children’s beaver book. The ceiling was so symmetrical and smooth, it was as if the beavers had a fine-tuned measuring instrument! p.s. I did this in the winter, with a coat on — tight squeeze, indeed!

      February 24, 2015 at 2:51 pm

  11. ELi & Tucker

    Love it! Touché!

    February 24, 2015 at 11:53 am

  12. Hilary Platt

    I loved the title of this post. Being soggy and thinking about mating …

    February 24, 2015 at 12:49 pm

  13. Dr Jo

    Hilarious exchange, hilarious photo caption, and wonderful photo! Thanks for my LOL of the day!

    JoAnn Berns

    Date: Tue, 24 Feb 2015 14:39:50 +0000 To: dr_jo@hotmail.com

    February 24, 2015 at 1:12 pm

  14. Nina Toutant

    Well, I’m perfectly happy NOT to see mating beavers. Let my imagination carry me away. The world of Mother Nature would think you quite perverted if you spent your time snapping photos of them enjoying their private time. Nina Toutant

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    February 24, 2015 at 5:24 pm

  15. Kerry Ryer-Parke

    Really needed this laugh today – still chuckling over “soggy beaver grooming while thinking about mating” ! Thank you for the information and the humor.

    February 24, 2015 at 8:22 pm

  16. All in good fun! Always delighted with your posts, Mary. Even the gruesome ones. 😉

    February 24, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Leave a Reply

