An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Naturally Curious Blog Begins 6th Year

DSC_0064Once every year, usually in April but this year in May, I celebrate the passing of another year of the Naturally Curious blog. April, 2015 marked the completion of five years of posts, many of which will be incorporated into the book I am currently working on, Naturally Curious Day by Day. (It won’t be published for at least another year or two.) I’d like to thank all of my readers, old and new, for tuning in so faithfully, sharing comments and questions, and supporting this endeavor. In this day and age, finding five minutes a day to read a blog is a major accomplishment, and I am very grateful to you for making the time to do so. I hope you will continue to enjoy the next five years (and hopefully many more) of my Naturally Curious blog as well as make many discoveries of your own. It’s so rewarding to be in touch with so many kindred spirits.

Most of the time, photographing for my Naturally Curious blog is pleasurable. Occasionally, however, one has to endure hardships in order to capture the desired photograph. One warm, windless day in the month of June I was attempting to photograph moose in northern Maine and was overcome with black fly bites as I sat in my canoe for hours waiting for the perfect shot (yes, I was woefully unprepared – that’s my t-shirt pulled over my head and ears). My misery was recorded for posterity by my camera-carrying companion. I’m only sharing her humorous/embarrassing photograph because I want you to know the lengths to which I go to find interesting subjects for the blog! (Photo by Mary Sue Henszey)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

36 responses

  1. Denise

    Thank-you for all you do. I’m loving the learning!

    May 1, 2015 at 8:14 am

    • Sarah Frankel

      I don’t know how to comment, except to comment on someone else’s comment. I love your daily posts, and share them with my students. It has helped get 7th and 8th grade students from Conway, NH excited about observing changes in the natural world. Thank you for all you do!

      May 1, 2015 at 7:11 pm

  2. Thanks, Mary. You’re the best. Looking forward to the book. Sue.

    May 1, 2015 at 8:15 am

  3. Such a wonderfully funny picture, Mary! Congratulations on this anniversary and I, too, wish for many more years of reading your posts .

    May 1, 2015 at 8:16 am

  4. Congratulations, Mary for completing your 5th year! I thoroughly enjoy seeing your daily offerings and often learn something unexpected. It is a winner in my book. Looking forward to many more years with Best wishes!

    May 1, 2015 at 8:16 am

  5. Dianne and Ed

    Mary, you are such a blessing to all of us…..5 years of posts…….WOW……….and many more. :-), Dianne

    May 1, 2015 at 8:19 am

  6. Kris

    Oh Mary! When I started your post today I feared you would say ‘after five years fighting the black flies I ve decided to throw in the towel.’
    Thank goodness I can look forward to five more!!
    (And thank you!)

    May 1, 2015 at 8:19 am

  7. April

    Congratulations on entering year five! I want you to know how much I appreciate your your black fly bites in the service of my favorite blog. As the person who introduced me to it said: “it’s a gift in my inbox every morning”.

    May 1, 2015 at 8:21 am

  8. Lynn A. Varin

    Thank you for all that you do, Mary. I certainly appreciate it and every day I look forward eagerly to your posts. It such a wonderful take on our beautiful world and the plants and animals that inhabit it. I save all of your posts to refer back to since I learn so much from you. What would I do without you? Thanks again!

    May 1, 2015 at 8:22 am

  9. kris federle

    I love your blog and appreciate the effort you go to and the hardships you endure! Thank you for another year of learning. I am a 5th grade teacher and often share your entries with my students. They too marvel at your photos and knowledge!

    May 1, 2015 at 8:27 am

  10. Jill Marquard

    Mary, it’s a nice photo, but I can imagine the discomfort! Have a good, safe weekend. 🙂
    Jill Marquard

    May 1, 2015 at 8:33 am

  11. Thanks! Always enjoyable and educational. I so often find myself the very next day quoting you or face-to-face with exactly what you’d shared with us the day before. Onward!!

    May 1, 2015 at 8:38 am

  12. Suzanne

    I so appreciate the pleasure and the learning every weekday morning. You send such rich, new, and interesting info (even for this amateur but pretty well-versed naturalist) along with great photos. And it’s short, which means I can even SAVOR it within those 5 minutes! Thanks for all your work, play, and black fly endurance (yowzers)!

    May 1, 2015 at 8:41 am

  13. Lynne Fitzhugh

    Your morning blog is the best few minutes of my day! Congratulations on the anniversary, and thank you for bringing such intimate details of our natural world to light for so many. You are a treasure.

    May 1, 2015 at 8:49 am

  14. Nicole Cormen

    Happy Anniversary, Mary, and many more!

    Being out with you on Moose Mt. was the highlight of my winter! I’m making slow progress on mobility & seem to have the cancer back, but I do hope & plan to give you a shout when I’m able to take to the field again.

    Best wishes, and sincere thanks for the light you shed on Nature’s infinite wonders,

    Nicole

    P.S. I never go out without my Bug Baffler once the biters & stingers return :—)

    May 1, 2015 at 9:01 am

  15. love, Love LOVE! What an adorable photo of you! Thank you for all you do that makes my day!!

    May 1, 2015 at 9:09 am

  16. Congratulations on your anniversary! You enrich my life and the lives of many others…your suffering is not in vain! And I love the photo.

    May 1, 2015 at 9:19 am

  17. I look forward to reading your blog every single day. It is a constant source of learning and pleasure for me. Congratulations, and don’t forget to pack your bug net! 🙂

    May 1, 2015 at 9:22 am

  18. Colleen Katsuki

    I find this photo of human in the wild very interesting! Why do you not have more photos of this fascinating species?

    May 1, 2015 at 9:49 am

  19. Peggy Timmerman

    Dear Mary,

    I have been reading your blog for about a year, and have to say I just love the variety and depth of information that you provide. It is humbling to learn more about the workings of the natural world, and you open our eyes to the amazing diversity that is nature. Thank you so much!
    Peggy Timmerman
    Lone Rock, WI

    May 1, 2015 at 10:09 am

  20. Penny March

    Thanks so much Mary. It has been a wonderful five years. The tick season is now upon us! Hope you and I can avoid them as preventing Lyme is not fun and getting more expensive for doxycycline every year.

    May 1, 2015 at 10:10 am

  21. Connie Youngstrom

    Thank you so much for your daily good cheer!

    May 1, 2015 at 10:23 am

  22. Kate Schubart

    You are an incomparable addition to every (week) day. An essential and a gift, Mary. Thank you for your knowledge, your intrepidity and your light touch.

    May 1, 2015 at 11:03 am

  23. Albert Gordon

    Hello Mary,
    Thank you for posting Naturally Curious. Every day I learn, in a few brief paragraphs, something I never knew. You are much appreciated. Please keep on posting, Albert Gordon

    May 1, 2015 at 11:06 am

  24. Peter Storrs

    Hi, Mary I live in Cornish and, while I was walking, I noticed a brilliant, blue butterfly or moth that was a little bigger than the size of my thumb. It was such a brilliant color against the drab scenery since the trees are not yet budding. Do you know what the name of it is? Caroline Storrs Cornish, NH

    May 1, 2015 at 11:24 am

  25. Congratulations! Your blog is far and away my favorite. 🙂 Thank you for all you do for your readers!

    May 1, 2015 at 12:00 pm

  26. Lou

    I look forward to your blog every single day! It is inspiring me to try to do something similar on the west coast – but I don’t think I’ll ever pull it together in the beautiful, thoughtful and educational way that you do!

    May 1, 2015 at 1:29 pm

  27. Michael Robinson

    Hello,

    Thank you for your kind email and thank you for taking the time to write a daily blog. I look forward to reading it.

    Amy

    May 1, 2015 at 1:59 pm

  28. Kathie Fiveash

    You are an inspiration and a great teacher, and your blog is a constant source of beauty, science, pleasure, and learning. I tell everyone I meet who is interested in nature about you and your work. I’m so glad that you are keeping on! Congratulations on 5 years! My only regret is that I missed the first couple. I hope we will meet some day.

    May 1, 2015 at 4:26 pm

  29. John DeWitt

    I second what Kathie just said(comment above), and you can thank her for telling me about your blog! I really enjoy it every morning.

    May 1, 2015 at 6:40 pm

  30. Susan Holland

    How lucky am I ? I have had a lifetime of learning from my big sister and I am still learning something new almost every day from her blog! You will never know how fortunate I feel to have such a teacher and sister. Thank you for keeping me curious about the world around me and making me so much more informed. Can’t wait for the new book to be out!!!!

    May 1, 2015 at 11:34 pm

  31. Betsy janeway

    Dear Mary,
    Wonderful photo…so happy to see what you look like even in great discomfort and with tee shirt over your head! Thank you Mary Holland…you always brighten my day, and it’s always worth the time it takes to read your posts. I’m full of admiration for you. I write a similar column once a MONTH! How you do it daily is amazing. Betsy Janeway

    May 4, 2015 at 10:40 am

  32. Caroline K.

    Dear Mary Holland, I am simply stunned by the knowledge you graciously share with the “lucky” ones, like myself who know about you. Your boundless and fascinating knowledge about all manner of nature’s secrets in combination with the extraordinary photos you manage to take are a tour de force. When I have time to look, I marvel at your accomplishments and when I have no time, I collect the posts for a binge like I have just had of many weeks of postings! Bless you, thank you, Caroline Keating

    June 22, 2015 at 1:24 am

    • Caroline, you have made my day! Thank you so much for your kind words. Much of what I share is new knowledge that I have gained by researching the subjects I photograph…it certainly doesn’t all come straight out of my head! Thought you would like to know that my next book, that I am working on now, called Naturally Curious Day by Day, will consist of one to three of my posts for each day of the year. There will be new ones, but many will be from the past five years’ posts. Thank you again for writing me – I am humbled by your words.

      June 22, 2015 at 5:51 am

  33. paul goundrey

    Mary,I was walking today, Sunday June 28 and I heard chirping.  There was a nest on the ground in a whole of a moss covered bank along the trail.  Very young birds.  Could you give me an idea what it may be.Paul GoundreyOrfrod

    June 28, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    • Hi Paul, I’m afraid there are numerous species of ground-nesting birds so I need a little more to go on. Could you possibly take a photo of the nest? That would be of some help. You would need to send it to me at mholland@vermontel.net. Thanks!

      June 28, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Leave a Reply

