An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Indian Cucumber-root Flowering

6-10-15 Indian cucumber-root 150Indian Cucumber Root is a member of the Lily family that grows to be one to two feet tall and has one or more whorls (several leaves coming off stem at same point) of leaves. Plants that are going to flower usually put out two tiers of leaves, with their distinctive flowers arising from the second tier. The flowers nod down below the leaves, while the dark purple fruit that forms later in the summer rises above them. As its name implies, the small root tuber of this wildflower is edible, and resembles a cucumber in both texture and taste, but should be harvested very sparingly.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

3 responses

  1. linda rauter

    Hi. Won’t you please send me your snail mail address so I can send a donation? I do not use the computer to donate…don’t trust my mastercard # to be out there.
    Also, wondering if you have any comments about the black squirrel we saw at my home in Chichester about a week ago. Thanks a bunch.

    June 10, 2015 at 3:28 pm

  2. I think that Indian Cucumber-root tubers taste like a cross between a cucumber and a radish. I’ve only tasted them a couple of times, though, because I had been told (as you also pointed out) that they should be harvested very sparingly. A few years back, I visited an area in northern Maine protected by a conservation easement, and a staff member working for the easement holder said it would be okay for me to take a few. I was grateful for the chance to try them.

    June 10, 2015 at 10:01 pm

  3. What a beautiful wildflower and fruit. I don’t know as I’ve ever seen one.

    June 11, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Leave a Reply

