An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Black-tipped Darner

black-tipped darner IMG_3123There are two darners that look very much alike, the Black-tipped (Aeshna tuberculifera) and the Shadow Darner (Aeshna umbrosa). The differences are somewhat subtle, so I spent a great deal of time identifying the egg-layers that I photographed for today’s post, vacillating back and forth between the two species. I finally zoomed in on one photo and determined that the lateral stripes on its thorax were outlined in black, making it a Black-tipped Darner (Shadow Darners lack this outline, and lack coloring on the last abdominal segment). That said, while I knew the identity, I neglected to make sure my post reflected this, and once again, a reader was kind enough to point this out. Thank you, Mike Blust!

2 responses

  1. Sonya

    Hello Ms. Holland,
    I so enjoy your blog and your Naturally Curious book (which we are using in a Master Naturalist Level ll class).
    I like to photograph insects, flowers, funghi, etc, but my results are often disappointing. I was wondering what type of camera do you use for your gorgeous, clear close-ups?
    Thanks for being you!!!
    Sonya Wulff

    August 31, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    • Hi Sonya, Thank you for your endorsement of my blog and book! I have a Canon Mark III 5D camera, and a 100 mm macro IS Canon lens f/2.8 which I love. Do you have a macro lens? I use it for 90% of the photographs I take!

      August 31, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Leave a Reply

