An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Sheet Web Weavers Still Active

10-9-15 sheet web IMG_5116Spider webs are constructed in a variety of shapes, for which many of them are named. Among others are orb webs, triangle webs, mesh webs and sheet webs. One of the most prevalent types of spider webs seen this late in the year is the sheet web, made by members of the Lynyphiidae family.

Several different web designs are found in this family including the bowl and doily, dome, and sheet. Tiny sheet web weavers spin small horizontal sheets of webbing and then hang upside-down underneath their web. Some species make two layers and hide between them for protection. When a small insect walks across the web, the spider bites through the silk, grabs its prey, pulls it through the web and eats (actually drinks) it.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

9 responses

  1. Bill

    And I thought i had a great web designer!

    October 8, 2015 at 8:26 am

  2. So that’s what that kind of web is called! I have a humorous recent photo of a sheet web in my yard. How can I post it?

    October 8, 2015 at 11:54 am

    • Oh, I wish I knew, Linda, but I don’t. WordPress is a total mystery to me, I’m sorry. I don’t believe they allow photos in the comment section, judging from past attempts from readers.

      October 8, 2015 at 12:58 pm

      • Oh well. These things are a mystery to me as well… I’ll describe the photo! I have, on a tree stump, a white, one foot high cement statue of a rabbit sitting on its haunches. A spider was kind enough to create a sparkling wedding veil from the top of the head and spreading out to small juniper branches behind the statue. I call it the “Bridal Bunny”!
        By the way, this past spring I counted 4 wood turtles at my pond; have seen one occasionally since then. I reported the 4 to Jim Andrews- he was very pleased. Thanks for putting me in touch with him a year ago!

        October 8, 2015 at 1:16 pm

  3. Linda, your description of the bridal veil and bunny is great!

    October 8, 2015 at 1:49 pm

  4. Rita Pitkin

    Love the dewy webs this time of year!

    October 8, 2015 at 8:24 pm

  5. Linda, if you have saved your picture as a jpg. file on your computer, just insert it into an email to Mary as an attachment. ( If all else fails, as I always say, snag the nearest teenager and ask for their help!)

    October 10, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Leave a Reply

