An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Female Eastern Coyotes In Estrus

1-27-16 coyote in estrus 036Female Eastern Coyotes come into estrus only once a year, usually in late winter for two to five days. For two or three months prior to as well as during this time, males roam widely and scent marking by both males and females increases. During their mating season, coyotes often travel in pairs, and it is not unusual to find scent posts where both male and female have scent marked with their urine. (The female’s urine is often tinged with blood.) The percentage of females that breed in a given year (typically 60% to 90%) depends upon the availability of food and their physical condition.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

8 responses

  1. For those interested, Green Mountain Conservation Group is featuring Chris Schadler of Project Coyote at the 18th annual meeting on Feb. 27,. Her presentation will be “Becoming Wolf: Eastern Coyote in New England”. The annual dinner meeting will be held at Hobbs Tavern and Brewing Co in West Ossipee, and starts with registration at 4pm. Tickets $18/pp. Cash bar and social hour 4:30 -5:30pm, dinner and presentation 5:30-7:30pm. Check the website gmcg.org for more information or call the GMCG office at 603-538-1859

    January 27, 2016 at 8:44 am

  2. Stephanie Olmsted

    What about foxes and wolves?

    January 27, 2016 at 9:11 am

    • Foxes are also starting their mating season. Not sure about wolves!

      January 27, 2016 at 3:09 pm

  3. There sure is a lot of mating (across species) that goes on in the depths of winter!

    January 27, 2016 at 9:57 am

  4. Huh! How timely (as is often the case!) Yesterday I noticed several bloody spots among the tracks in my back yard, near my old attached barn. I couldn’t figure out what they were – no sign of dead rodents. Meanwhile, I’ve also been seeing a variety of tracks across the yard, and I’ve assumed that the larger ones were dogs. I don’t know much about tracking, and the tracks have not been very clear, since the snow has been so light and fluffy, and it’s been breezy. But I did notice one set of tracks that looked like it was made by a large, leaping critter. My house is in the middle of our small village, so there are houses nearby, but a big open field beyond my yard, and a wooded hillside beyond that. I hear coyotes at times, but hadn’t imagined them coming into the village itself…
    Now I’m feeling a bit more concerned about my adventuresome cat, who sometimes chooses to stay out all night. He does have a small opening into the barn that he can use. I guess I’ll just hope for the best; and I’ll be more curious and attentive to what might be happening out there after dark!

    January 27, 2016 at 11:34 am

  5. Hi Mary
    Very timely note about females. I’m not aware that the percentage of females that breed is anywhere near that high though. The literature says 2/3 of females never breed. Can you clarify?

    January 27, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    • I think we may have different sources. I used Natural History of Canadian Mammals by Donna Naughton, a highly respected source, when stating the reproductive rate of female coyotes. Perhaps the percentage is higher in Canada than the U.S., but I suspect not. Can you refer me to a literature that you’ve seen? Thanks!

      January 27, 2016 at 3:08 pm

  6. Been hearing a lot more vocalizing at night lately, I suspected that was why!

    January 27, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

