An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Young Striped Skunks Learning How To Fend For Themselves

6-28  young skunks2  267For the past six to eight weeks, young striped skunks have lived off their mother’s milk, but now the time has come for them to learn how to provide for themselves.  The mother teaches her four to eight young by taking them all out at night to learn how to forage for insects and small mammals.  Should you encounter one of these small, furry creatures, do not be fooled into thinking it is too young to spray.  Musk is present at birth, and can be released at the ripe old age of eight days.  (Thanks to Don Westover and Lou White for photo op)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

5 responses

  1. Marilyn

    I learned, after describing how a little skunk had faced me. almost defiantly, that it could have sprayed me. Fortunately I had walked quietly away, thinking that if the little guy turned tail to me was when I’d be in danger of being “perfumed”.

    June 28, 2016 at 7:40 am

  2. Al

    I once saw a mother and two young in my yard, and followed them through the woods for several hours (keeping my distance, of course). The mother wasn’t happy with me, but mostly they went about their business and put up with me.

    June 28, 2016 at 9:16 am

  3. I once startled a young skunk in a patch of tall grass. Luckily, it seemed flustered into not knowing what to do, and we both went our separate ways. 🙂

    June 28, 2016 at 11:01 am

  4. Mickey Derham

    I saw this one the other day- no babies

    >

    June 28, 2016 at 4:14 pm

  5. k

    So cute! Beautiful animals!

    June 28, 2016 at 7:50 pm

Leave a Reply

