An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

First Monarchs Have Arrived At Wintering Sanctuaries

10-31-16-monarch2-img_5186

During the first two weeks of October, south winds prevented migrating Monarchs from making a lot of progress on their flight southward. Cold fronts were weak during this time, and wind blew from the north infrequently. On Oct.12 this persistent weather pattern broke, headwinds subsided and thousands of Monarchs were seen migrating through Texas. By Oct. 20 the first Monarchs entered Mexico and by the 23rd the first butterflies had reached their wintering grounds. Follow their progress as they continue to stream across northern Mexico, headed for their sanctuaries, at http://www.learner.org/jnorth/maps/monarch.html.

Naturally Curious is supported by donations.  If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

 

 

14 responses

  1. Am I too late to order a calendar? I see that this is the last day to order but it isn’t clear how to alert you before I send my check. I would like to order two calendars. Many thanks, Candace

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    October 31, 2016 at 7:50 am

    • You’re not too late – today’s the last day! I shall put your name on my list!

      October 31, 2016 at 8:08 am

  2. Alice Pratt

    Such a long migration for “tough” butterflies!

    October 31, 2016 at 8:41 am

  3. Diane

    First one I’ve had in my yard in many years was on 10/21/16.

    October 31, 2016 at 8:52 am

  4. Diane

    I’m in SE, PA.

    October 31, 2016 at 8:53 am

  5. nangalland

    So great to get this – thank you Mary!! >

    October 31, 2016 at 9:02 am

  6. Quicks

    Hello,

    Wanted to let you know I would like to order a calendar and will send a check today!

    October 31, 2016 at 9:04 am

  7. Peg

    Hi I would like to order one calendar and will put a check in the mail today

    October 31, 2016 at 9:27 am

    • Will put you down for one – thank you!

      October 31, 2016 at 9:28 am

  8. Cecelia Blair

    I collected some seed pods from a field where there are many–near the wild apple orchard at the Windsor prison lands. Today I will distribute them to another field that used to have milk weed but was overly mown and worked in recent years. Now this field is being left alone again and the trustees who manage it want to mow late, to support the milk weed. I will scratch up the dirt in some likely places on my own land too.

    October 31, 2016 at 9:41 am

  9. Bill On The Hill...

    Nice shot of the Monarch Mary. Correct me if I’m wrong, shot with the 100 mm f/2.8 macro?
    I saw a single monarch this season up here in the highlands of Corinth, VT this summer down at the pond & another one a week or so later up at the house, probably the same one… 🙂

    October 31, 2016 at 10:14 am

    • Yes, 100mm macro, my favorite! Friends trying to convince me to get a Canon SX60, but so far I’m resisting…

      October 31, 2016 at 1:48 pm

  10. I love that website for tracking, esp. on their return. 🙂

    October 31, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Leave a Reply

