An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

New Children’s Book Released

otisowl-email-sizeI’m delighted to announce that my latest children’s book, Otis the Owl, has just been released. This book is a celebration of the serendipity of having had the opportunity to observe and photograph Barred Owl nestlings around the time of my grandson Otis’s birth. Otis the Owl is available from independent bookstores, online and from the publisher (click on cover image on my blog). It might make the perfect Valentine for your favorite 4 to 8 year-old!

Watch in wonder as Otis transforms from a tiny ball of fluff into a predator on the cusp of  stretching his feathers beyond the safety of his family tree, in Otis the Owl, a real-life glimpse into the world of the woodland Barred Owl. Nature photographer Mary Holland’s breathtaking images capture the fierce beauty found in birds of prey, and candid commentary educates and enlightens while engaging audiences with questions, quizzes, and creative thinking.  (Foreword book review)

16 responses

  1. Chris

    Congratulations, Mary! How special this book is!

    February 3, 2017 at 7:59 am

  2. Susan Kellogg

    OMGoodness Mary! This is the cutest owl face I’ve ever seen! Would love to see the book.

    BTW, I will happily re-do your forms. If it’s okay I’ll plan on giving them to you at your next visit. S

    >

    February 3, 2017 at 8:01 am

    • Will bring a copy with me next time!

      February 3, 2017 at 8:36 am

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!

    >

    February 3, 2017 at 8:28 am

  4. Awesome! Great photographs!

    February 3, 2017 at 8:37 am

  5. Deb

    Fabulous! Your newest book would be a great addition to my great-nephew’s library. Is there I way I can get it personalized by you? Are you planning on any bookstore signings?

    February 3, 2017 at 9:05 am

    • Hi Deb,
      I’m not sure where you live, but if it’s near Hartland, VT, I have copies and could sign one for you. If you’re willing to pay postage, I could also mail you a signed copy. I am just starting to book signings – one in Rutland, VT in May so far. I will have copies at all of the programs I give, but they don’t start until April.

      February 3, 2017 at 9:51 am

  6. Kathie Fiveash

    Congratulations Mary! I took a peek on Amazon, but I’ll order it at my local bookstore.

    February 3, 2017 at 9:06 am

  7. Peter Barber

    Wow. Just ordered it for our almost 3 year old grandson also named Otis!!
    Hope to get your signature when possible. Incedently he is a budding birding and general naturalist and must know 15 birds by sight and many more by sound. He’s quickly devouring Don Kroodsmas audio book just re released. What fun.

    February 3, 2017 at 10:56 am

  8. Alice Pratt

    How fun for Otis to have an Owl Book named after him! My daughter & I were walking with her almost 2 1/2 year old daughter, yesterday & my daughter said: wish we could see more owls, they are always so camouflaged.

    February 3, 2017 at 12:20 pm

  9. Wonderful! My grandkids will love this, I’m sure!

    February 3, 2017 at 1:27 pm

  10. Viola

    Congratulations on yet another, Mary! I can’t wait to see it. Sounds like a real charmer as well as a source of learning. Best wishes

    February 3, 2017 at 2:13 pm

  11. Congratulations Mary. I can’t wait to see it! And Otis is a perfect name for both little owls and little boys!

    February 3, 2017 at 4:44 pm

  12. Marian Boudreault

    Will definitely get a copy of this for my granddaughter who turns 3 in April and loves Owls and books.I know you are enjoying that baby boy Otis. Grand parenting is the best, as are you. Be well. Marian Boudreault

    From: Naturally Curious with Mary Holland To: mboudr@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, February 3, 2017 7:37 AM Subject: [New post] New Children’s Book Released #yiv3185736414 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3185736414 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3185736414 a.yiv3185736414primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3185736414 a.yiv3185736414primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3185736414 a.yiv3185736414primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3185736414 a.yiv3185736414primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3185736414 WordPress.com | Mary Holland posted: “I’m delighted to announce that my latest children’s book, Otis the Owl, has just been released. This book is a celebration of the serendipity of having had the opportunity to observe and photograph Barred Owl nestlings around the time of my grandson Otis’” | |

    February 3, 2017 at 6:04 pm

  13. How wonderful! My students and I love your books (and anything else from Arbordale Press! Congratulations!

    February 4, 2017 at 9:29 am

Leave a Reply

