An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Your Naturally Curious Comments

2-3-17-yellow-crowned-night-heron-by-mholland-030I’ve been meaning to address the subject of reader comments on my posts and my responses, or lack thereof,  for some time.  As you might imagine, I get a number of questions emailed to me as well as questions submitted on “Comments” after each post, which I do my best to answer. However, after having responded to those questions, gone outside to photograph for the next day’s post, decided on a topic, researched that topic and written the post, there is precious little time to respond to the rest (those not asking questions) of the comments. I read every single comment, and ideally would respond to every one, but there just isn’t enough time in the day for me to do so.

Please know that your commentary contributions, be they additional information, stories, personal observations or critiques, are much appreciated, both by me as well as other NC readers. I truly love that my readers are engaged in the subjects I write about and take the time to write. I’m just sorry that I can’t respond to many more than those seeking an answer to their question.  (Photo:  Yellow-crowned Night Heron)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com   and click on the yellow “donate” button.

23 responses

  1. I wish I had that problem with my blog!

    February 8, 2017 at 8:30 am

  2. Mike Levine

    It is a good problem to have. Your emails and website are being appreciated by more and more people every day. Great job.

    February 8, 2017 at 8:30 am

  3. Mary Waugh

    Mary, I’m quite sure your readers care more about the fascinating information you share with us then whether or not they get a response from you! Thank you for bringing nature to us. Oh, the things I have learned.

    February 8, 2017 at 8:43 am

  4. Thank you for your blog. I have learned (and am still learning) so much with each post. I know of other bloggers who experience the same thing with not enough time in the day. Thanks again for taking the time to share with us.

    February 8, 2017 at 8:54 am

  5. Dianne Rochford

    Absolutely Understand…….Your plate is VERY full and I appreciate all you do to nourish my “Natural Curiosity”!!

    :-), Dianne >

    February 8, 2017 at 8:54 am

  6. Sally

    I love the photo of the night heron. Thank you for posting!

    Sally

    February 8, 2017 at 9:44 am

  7. Mary, just keep doing what you’re doing. Naturally Curious is a gem! So many are learning so much from your posts. I look forward each morning to starting the day with coffee and Naturally Curious.

    February 8, 2017 at 9:49 am

  8. Comment on “Comment Thoughts”: No worries Mary. Your approach in the past and your suggestion for the future sounds fine to me. It is fun to read one-another’s comments. You don’t have to chime in. Best wishes.

    February 8, 2017 at 10:21 am

  9. Alice Pratt

    Interesting, because yesterday, after the Mystery Photo, I was going to write: Mary, you must get such a chuckle out of some of the amusing answers people leave 😹 I, too enjoy your photos and information so very much and read everyones’ comments.

    February 8, 2017 at 10:37 am

  10. This post shows how thoughtful you are, Mary. Responding to all comments, and the emails you receive, could in itself be a full-time occupation. I hope you’ll feel assured that our comments are a testimony of appreciation rather than expectation. We all wish for you have balance, with time for unpressured enjoyment of your wild places and your grandson!

    February 8, 2017 at 11:03 am

    • I second Cherrie’s comment exactly!

      February 8, 2017 at 12:45 pm

    • Alice Pratt

      Awwwwwww 😍

      February 8, 2017 at 4:53 pm

  11. Thank you for all you do, and completely understand today’s comment. Your posts are a gift to many; really helpful and fun for me as the director of a Nature Connection Mentoring organization. Saskia Vanderhoop

    February 8, 2017 at 11:09 am

  12. Randi Filoon

    You are amazing Mary! I read everything you send out and sit in wonder of your wealth of information. You do a great job! Fondly, Randi Reeve Filoon

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    February 8, 2017 at 11:12 am

  13. Love what you do — and don’t need responses to my comments ! Thank you

    February 8, 2017 at 11:19 am

  14. Kathryn

    I love what you so and how you do it. I always look forward to seeing your name in my email! Saw a ton of robins feeding on crab apple trees yesterday. Remember when you wouldn’t see them til April?

    February 8, 2017 at 11:43 am

  15. Bridgit Litchfield

    Dear Mary, NNTR! I can’t believe you are apologizing for not spending every minute of your life answering endless comments. You give so much, are a treasure in our lives and humble at that! I hope your reader base continues to expand and book sales soar. Fans need to understand and not be so self-centered. I’m sending a donation in appreciation for all you do. Thanks!!!

    February 8, 2017 at 11:53 am

  16. Robin Snyder-Drummond

    Keep up the lovely, beautiful, thoughtful work!

    February 8, 2017 at 1:22 pm

  17. We love the work you do, Mary. No worries!

    February 8, 2017 at 1:58 pm

  18. Jennifer Feller

    And I hope YOU know that, although many of us don’t comment, we read your posts every single day! Thank you SO much for what you do. It’s a gift.

    February 8, 2017 at 2:33 pm

  19. Alice Pratt

    By about now, Mary must have happy tears in her eyes…(I do) ….this is the 1st wonderful blog community I started following, last year, then Eliza Waters…all enriching my life & also family, so much.

    February 8, 2017 at 4:59 pm

  20. Marilyn

    What a beautiful heron!
    I could repeat what everyone else has said, so I’ll redundantly add that I look forward to your blogs and am grateful for your sharing.

    February 8, 2017 at 5:24 pm

  21. Hugs to you Mary!(((()))) and no reply necessary – just grateful for your wilderness-wildlife-wisdom each day!

    February 9, 2017 at 11:44 am

Leave a Reply

