An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide

Heartfelt Thanks To All My Readers

e-kit with mother IMG_4483Several times I have been brought to tears in the past week by the thoughtfulness, generosity, kindness and compassion shown by so many Naturally Curious readers. I owe you such a debt of gratitude. Many of you don’t know me, much less Sadie and Otis, yet your response to our situation was immediate and magnanimous.

I had every intention of writing to each and every Naturally Curious reader who has given to Sadie’s and Otis’s fund. However, there are an enormous number of you, my free time is quite limited, and many of the gifts are anonymous, so I decided to write one note to all of my readers, hoping that I will reach every single person who has touched our lives in the past few weeks. I hope you understand my lack of an individual response to every donation and kind thought.

Thank you so very, very much. Every penny will be spent on necessities, and gratitude will be felt every day for what you have done for us. Both Sadie and I are deeply humbled and overwhelmed by your generosity. I feel my NC posts are not nearly worthy of the outpouring of love and support that you have bestowed upon us. You have given back tenfold, and I shall never forget your incredible response. Sadie, Otis and I thank you from the bottom of our hearts. You have touched us so deeply. I simply cannot believe the extent of your compassion and generosity; there are not adequate words to thank you.

With enormous gratitude, Mary

23 responses

  1. Anne

    I was so touched by your story and so grateful to be able to express my thanks for Naturally Curious in this pay-it-forward way. I wish you and your family, amid the grief, a way forward into such beauty as you bring to us, your readers. ~ Anne in VT

    July 31, 2017 at 3:45 pm

  2. Nancy Wightman

    Dear Mary Holland, your NC notes are certainly worthy of our concern and love for you. Thank you. I would love to donate but am one of those people who want to send through snail mail. I need a contact. It seems I’m a dinosaur! Hugs in this hard time. Nancy Wightman

    July 31, 2017 at 3:46 pm

    • Hi Nancy,
      Thank you so much. There is a bank that is accepting checks for Sadie and Otis. Here’s the message that the person who created the fund put on the fund’s website: Hello all. I am receiving many questions about check contributions. Please make checks out to “The Otis Brown Fund” (the “The” is important to include). Mail checks to: The Otis Brown Fund c/o Eastern Bank 441 Main St. Melrose, MA 02176 Sadie is then mailed notification of deposit once received. If you have any questions, the fastest way to contact me is at my email: theonlysabrina@gmail.com Feel free to contact me at any time. Many thanks, Sabrina

      July 31, 2017 at 3:54 pm

  3. Audrey C. Hyson

    Mary, your work enriches our lives so much. Supporting your family in this time of difficulty seems like a small thing to do in return.

    July 31, 2017 at 3:55 pm

  4. It takes a village…

    July 31, 2017 at 4:02 pm

  5. Dear Mary,
    Your Naturally Curious brings such a special element to my life, and my wife, Gail’s, that we feel it is worth more than anything money can bring. We have two grandchildren, just about the same age as Otis (2 and 4), and we feel very deeply for his situation and want to help. Our son and his wife Alejandra, from Bogota, live in Stoneham, MA. Alejandra has long been involved in Spanish Immersion programs with children of young ages, and she is now working on starting up her own Spanish Immersion pre-school program right in downtown Melrose. She expects it will start in January of 2018 (http://www.mipequenacademia.com/). They take children from age 15 months or older. If this type of cultural diversity and child care is of any interest to Sadie and Otis, we would like to work on giving Otis a scholarship to the program as something that will really help out a single working mother like Sadie (and we so believe in recycling!). We are not sure what we can do at this point on the amount, but if Sadie is interested, please have her contact me (Craig) at the email here and I can put her in touch with Alejandra. No rush. I am know she is dealing with a lot at this point. And most of all thank you for all of the joy and insights into the natural world that you bring to our lives, and that we are passing on to our own grandchildren.
    Craig & Gail Williamson

    July 31, 2017 at 4:22 pm

  6. Gaylee Amend

    And of course you are a thousand times welcome. You give so much, we owe you all we can manage to share. I keep all your postings in an email “file” and often just scroll them to read instead of junk. You are always insight ful and beautiful, so the world rebounds toward you and your loved ones. I don’t imagine anyone expected you to write individual notes; we know how busy you are. Save some rest for yourself.
    Most sincerely with gratitude, Gay Amend

    July 31, 2017 at 4:34 pm

  7. Noreen

    Mary, I look forward to your posts and have learned so much from you! I’m glad to help out in your time of need. Time will help ease your grief, and support is what carries us forward.

    July 31, 2017 at 4:43 pm

  8. Ceacy Henderson

    Your blog is a treasure daily. I had a tragedy happen to me many years ago and someone got online and posted what had happened and asked for donations. People all over the country donated. It was deeply humbling and it is a gift for me to ” pay it forward.” I am so sorry for your terrible loss and heartache. At least the response from your readers helps with the hurt.

    July 31, 2017 at 4:53 pm

  9. You, your daughter, and grandchild are certainly worthy of this outpouring of caring. Although I didn’t say it when I made a donation, it was made in memory of my dear friend who introduced me to Naturally Curious. I know she would have donated. It is a pleasure for me to help your family in her memory.

    July 31, 2017 at 5:12 pm

  10. Alice Pratt

    A proper response to your “thank you” is not possible right now, because of the tears rolling down my face. Obviously love and caring and understanding has been an enormous part of all the responses.

    July 31, 2017 at 6:00 pm

  11. Laura

    Dear Mary, Your letter was so kind. Although I can only speak for myself, I am willing to bet Others feel the same way. Your posts are like a mini vacation each and every time. It is such a nice respite from the day and the world of emails that come in. Plus it reconnects me to what really matters in life. Thank you and still sending warm wishes to you and your family.

    July 31, 2017 at 7:58 pm

  12. Laura

    Mary, we daily share your joy in natural phenomena and it is only right that we share your personal sadness, too, and want to help ease your family’s pain. You have touched so many lives in ways you cannot know, and we want to show our support and gratitude. May time and the beauty of the natural world bring healing to you all.

    July 31, 2017 at 8:34 pm

  13. Cassie Nyberg George

    ❤️🙏

    July 31, 2017 at 9:34 pm

  14. Faith

    I truly believe God will send his angels to comfort, guard, and guard you and your family.

    July 31, 2017 at 10:22 pm

  15. Treah Pichette

    It’s because you & your column are loved!

    August 1, 2017 at 6:52 am

  16. howiewemyss

    Howie Wemyss

    August 1, 2017 at 8:16 am

  17. You are so welcome Mary. You are loved and you do not walk this path alone.

    August 1, 2017 at 8:27 am

  18. Michele Girard

    Dear Mary,
    Thank you for all that you give to us every day. Helping your daughter and grandson in this way is our way of giving what we can at this time of great need.

    August 1, 2017 at 9:58 am

  19. Rema Boscov

    Dear Mary,

    People gave not just because of Sadie’s and Otis’s plight, but because YOU give, with every posting, and you give out of love. You love our natural world, and you share that with people who also love nature. You foster love with your wonderful photos and enthusiastic knowledge.

    I am so very sad for you, Sadie and Otis. May your months ahead be filled with some joy as well as sorrow. Don’t worry about not posting every day. I believe we all care about you and your family, so a missed day here and there only means you are caring for your loved ones, and is, in a way, a gift to your readers.

    Rema

    >

    August 1, 2017 at 9:37 pm

  20. Nor are there words to describe the incredible sadness which we feel for your dear family. Please keep us informed when contributions of money are needed again. It truly IS “the least we can do.” Our prayers and love are constantly being sent.

    August 2, 2017 at 6:20 am

  21. Robin Wilkerson

    Mary – what a gracious thank you. I think we all share in a deep appreciation for what you do – who you are – and thereby your family as well. My deep sympathy – and gratitude.

    August 2, 2017 at 2:39 pm

  22. SuzyF

    Mary, thanks for sharing the information on how to send a check to the bank hosting the fund. Sending thoughts to you, your daughter Sadie and little Otis at this unimaginably difficult time. I so appreciate your thoughtful and informative posts and wonderful photographs. Something to actually look forward to in my email in-box during these challenging times, and to enjoy sharing with family and friends.

    August 2, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Leave a Reply

