An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide – maryholland505@gmail.com

Dog Vomit Slime Mold

Slime molds were once considered fungi, but no longer – neither are they plants, animals or bacteria.  Biologists define them as organisms that can live freely as single cells (when food is abundant), but can also aggregate together to form multicellular reproductive structures (when food is scarce).

During the part of their life cycle referred to as plasmodium, some slime molds look like gelatinous slime that slowly flows over the ground or substrate consuming fungi and bacteria. When they reach their reproductive stage, they release spores light enough to be dispersed by the wind.

Dog Vomit Slime Mold (Fuligo septica), also known as Scrambled Egg Slime, is harmless to people, pets and plants. In fact, it is actually edible. In some parts of Mexico people scramble it like eggs (and call it “caca de luna”).

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com  and click on the yellow “donate” button.

4 responses

  1. Alice

    Very interesting…I really like the name Scrambled Egg Slime much better.

    July 8, 2022 at 8:28 am

  2. “Moon poop”? That’s hilarious!

    July 8, 2022 at 11:07 am

  3. Bill on the Hill

    Good one Kellyann… With my (3) years of Spanish under my belt from hs. years, I believe you have hit it on the head, lol!
    I have taken some shots of an orange colored variety of something quite similar taken last year on my property Mary, I’m guessing it isn’t the same fungus…
    Best,
    Bill… :~)

    July 10, 2022 at 6:37 am

  4. I’ve seen this in my yard.

    July 10, 2022 at 8:56 am

Leave a comment