An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide – maryholland505@gmail.com

Skunk Cabbage Flowering

If you look up, there are numerous trees (poplar, willow, some maples) that have opened their flower buds and are in the midst of being pollinated.  However if you look down, the reproduction of forest floor plants has yet to begin except for the early-blossoming Skunk Cabbage (Symplocarpus foetidus). The flowers appear before the leaves and have a mottled maroon hood-like leaf called a spathe, which surrounds a knob-like structure called a spadix. The spadix is actually a fleshy spike of many petal-less flowers. Female flowers form first, followed by male flowers.

 Because it can create heat through a process called thermogenesis (one of few flowering plants capable of doing so), Skunk Cabbage can be seen melting its way through several inches of snow.  This early maturation benefits the few pollinators such as flies, springtails and beetles that are active now, providing them with both food (pollen) as well as a mini-warming hut for temperatures that are still below freezing some days and nights. (Fueled by energy stored in the plant’s modified underground stem (rhizome), skunk cabbage can maintain temperatures of up to 70° F. within the spathe even as external air temperatures drop below freezing.)

Naturally Curious is supported by donations. If you choose to contribute, you may go to http://www.naturallycuriouswithmaryholland.wordpress.com and click on the yellow “donate” button.

8 responses

  1. irmagraf

    Having great difficulty commenting. Just want to know where in the Upper Valley one might find skunk cabbage? Irma Graf

    Sent from the all new AOL app for iOS

    March 25, 2024 at 10:11 am

    • Look in marshy areas with little circulation but some standing water.

      March 25, 2024 at 1:37 pm

  2. Skunk Cabbage is one of my favorite plants (along with Round Leaf Sundew and Pitcher Plants). Seems early for Skunk Cabbage here in Central Vermont…. likely advanced along the Connecticut River in Southern Vt. Thanks for this post. 

    March 25, 2024 at 1:35 pm

  3. Harriet Russell

    Thermogenesis! Amazing! Thank you.

    I can’t help noticing how much the looks like the Coronavirus. :-) 

    March 25, 2024 at 2:19 pm

    • Harriet Russell

      Sorry, my text to speech engine left out the word “spathe” in my comment about it’s similarity to the Coronavirus.

      March 25, 2024 at 2:23 pm

  4. Harriet Russell

    Oh dear, I wish I could delete my comments and start all over again. I should have said “spadix”, not “spathe!”

    Maybe whoever it’s monitoring these comments could just delete everything I wrote please

    March 25, 2024 at 2:30 pm

  5. AINSLEY DONALDSON

    I keep trying to donate with my mastercard, but it says it is going through Paypal, No! What am I doing wrong. I never choose Paypal when I give my info,,,,,

    Please tell me where to send a check, Ainsley Donaldson Melrose, MA ainsleyd@aol.com

    >

    March 26, 2024 at 5:53 pm

  6. Sewall Whittemore

    JUST WOW♥️‼️ Such amazing knowledge shared and to now see!! Thank You Dear Mary. Happy Spring…..aside from the large “dump” last weekend!😳 Hope your daffodils survived‼️🙏🏽🤩♥️

    Sent from my iPhone

    <

    div dir=”ltr”>

    <

    blockquote type=”cite”>

    March 30, 2024 at 12:07 pm

Leave a comment