An online resource based on the award-winning nature guide – maryholland505@gmail.com

Clearwing Moth – Welcome to a photographic journey through the fields, woods and marshes of New England

Find more of my photographs and information similar to that which I post in this blog in my book Naturally Curious, which is being published this fall.

HUMMINGBIRD CLEARWING MOTH

So many readers mentioned another sphinx moth, the hummingbird clearwing moth (Hemeris thysbe), after yesterday's post that I decided to put a photograph of it on my blog today, rather than save it for another day. Both the gallium sphinx moth and the clearwing were feeding on milkweed nectar yesterday afternoon. Because of its colors, as well as its hovering behavior, the hummingbird clearwing moth is often mistaken for a ruby-throated hummingbird as it drinks nectar from a variety of flowers. In its larval stage, it is a beautiful lime-green caterpillar with a prominent “horn” on its hind quarters.

4 responses

  1. Kay Shumway

    Wow Thanks for the pictures and the information. I am going out right now to see if I can spot one

    July 25, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    • Pete Miller

      I am looking at a hummingbird clearwing moth now as he takes nectar from an azalea bush in my front yard. Did not know what it was untill I found this site.

      April 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  2. Marilyn K. Aber

    Lots of interesting questions about the thisbe as I volunteer at the Smithsonian live butterfly exhibit.

    November 22, 2010 at 7:03 pm

  3. James McGannon

    thanks for the info,,, we thought they were hummingbirds last year,, now we know

    July 26, 2013 at 2:51 am

Leave a comment